Oz Lotto

Recommended Lottery Sites

History of the Oz Lotto:


Oz Lotto originally started life as a straightforward 6/45 lotto game. Players needed to select 6 balls from a possible 45. As with most long-running lotteries, the game developed over time and in October 2005 a 7th ball was added. With the addition of the 7th ball the Oz Lotto was also renamed in certain Australian territories to Super 7's Oz Lotto and Oz 7 Lotto. Oz Lotto is one of the few lotteries in the world in which 7 numbers are drawn from the same ball set.


How to Play the Oz Lotto:

To play the Oz Lotto players need to select 7 balls from a possible 45. To win the jackpot prize players need to match all 7 numbers drawn. In addition to the 7 balls drawn a further 2 balls are also drawn, known as the ‘supplementary numbers’. These 2 extra numbers create additional prize tiers (divisions 2, 4 and 7)

Oz Lotto Rollovers and Big Jackpots:

Even with a fairly modest starting jackpot of $2 million AUD, Oz Lotto has the honourable distinction of having had the 2 biggest lottery jackpots in Australian history. A total of $106 million AUD was won on 30 June 2009. The prize was shared by 2 ticket holders, one from Queensland and the other from South Australia. On 6th November 2012 4 lucky ticket holders split the $112 million AUD jackpot - officially the biggest Australian jackpot ever won! For Australian lottery fans out there – 7 lucky numbers are all that stand between you and millions of Dollars! Oz Lotto has a limit of 25 consecutive draws at which point, if the jackpot is still not won, the funds will be awarded to the second prize tier.

When to Play Oz Lotto:

OZ Lotto is drawn weekly in Melbourne and is broadcast at 20:30pm (AEST) on TV Channel 7. The game takes place once a week on Tuesdays.

Oz Lotto Prize divisions:

This Australian lottery boasts a total of 7 prize tiers (known as ‘divisions’)

Division Winning Numbers Required
1st Division 7
2nd Division 6 + 1 bonus
3rd Division 6
4th Division 5 + 1 bonus
5th Division 5
6th Division 4
7th Division 3 + 1 bonus